CORNWALL – If the North Dundas District High School Devils hope to qualify for a berth in the 2017 EOSSAA girls’ 15s rugby championships they will need a huge win against the St. Joe’s Panthers.

That crucial match between SD&G’s two undefeated teams, originally scheduled to be played today (Wed., May 10) in Cornwall, has been postponed until next week because the recent rains have rendered the Panthers’ field unusable. The winner of the Devils – Panthers confrontation will qualify to play in the EOSSAA tournament on Wed., May 24 in Pembroke. In their only other meeting (exhibition), the Panthers scored a 5-0 win on a first-half try.

Devils 49 – Falcons 5

Because the field at Holy Trinity was unplayable due to extremely wet conditions, last Thursday’s (May 4) encounter was switched to the Devils home turf on Maple Ridge.

For a second consecutive game, North Dundas’ speed enabled the Devils to pile up a sizable amount of offence, which resulted in a 49-5 decision. North Dundas has now outscored the opposition 123-6 in their two SD&G victories.

Veterans Jessi Zandbelt, Mallory Hutchinson, Lynette Klein-Boonschate and Megan Scheepers each ran in a pair of tries against Holy Trinity. Andrea Koch supplied a single try and booted a pair of converts.

“As a team we played better than our first game [against Tagwi],” explained head coach Reaney. “More of the younger girls were figuring out how to contribute.”

Including exhibition tests, North Dundas has compiled a 5-3-0 record.

Next action

North Dundas will visit the Tagwi Warriors on Wed., May 17. The Devils will then meet the Holy Trinity Falcons in Cornwall on Thurs., May 25 before finishing the regular season at home in a showdown with the St. Joe’s Panthers on Wed., May 31.

Devils roster

The 2017 NDDHS 15s rugby Devils are: Jessi Zandbelt, Mallory Hutchinson, Lynette Klein-Boonschate, Julia Gibson, Andrea Koch, Kim Roberts, Chloe Ziegler, Grace Cave, Katrina McDermid, Brooke Richards, Chloe Adams, Caitlin Begg, Kayla Sherrer, Kennedy Handler, Katy Van Schyndel, Meagan Scheepers, Desiray Clemen, Delaney Halpenny and Mackenzie Hibbett.