Mildred E. MacIntosh 

Mildred Evelyn MacIntosh (nee Porteous) of Spencerville, passed away Sat., June 25, 2011, at the Elizabeth Bruyére Hospital, with her family by her side. She was 88.

Mildred was predeceased by her husband, Douglas, in 1998. She is survived by her daughter, Joan Kelly (David) of Ottawa, her son, Peter (Leota) of Maynard, and her daughter, Nancy MacIntosh-Hooper (Bill) of Shanly. She is also survived by sisters Laura Noonan (Bob) of Brockville and Agnes Paterson (Bill) of Ottawa. Also surviving are in-laws Marion Porteous (Neil), and Murray MacIntosh (Donella) of Winchester, Barbara MacIntosh (Ken) of Greely, and Mary Murphy (Brian) of Ottawa. She was the loving grandmother of Michael Kelly (Nathalie Dionne), Jenifer Kelly (Darrell Martell), Cassandra Musch (Nick), Sarah MacIntosh (Yves Scott), Andrew MacIntosh, Susan Zambonin (Mario), Jim Hooper (Amy), Abby MacIntosh-Hooper (Chris McIntyre), and Doug MacIntosh-Hooper (Rachel). She was great-grandma to Jessica and Matthew Zambonin; Elizabeth and Sarah Hooper; Jacob Martell; and Lucy Hooper. She was predeceased by her two brothers, Neil and Bruce Porteous, by sister in-law Betty Robinson (Lyle), and by brother in-law Kenneth MacIntosh.

Mildred was born in Winchester Township on Aug. 11, 1922, to the late Norman Porteous and Jean Moffatt. She was raised and educated in the Ormond area. She and her family moved to Spencerville in 1958.

She worked as a postal clerk for many years, eventually becoming postmaster in Spencerville, until she retired in 1987. Her main interests were her family and her church, identifying with the United Church of Canada. She spent many years as a member of the church choir.

Visitation was held at the Grant Brown Funeral Home, Purcell Chapel, in Spencerville on Tues., June 28. The funeral service was held at Spencerville United Church on Wed., June 29 at 1 pm, with Richard Woodland presiding and music provided by Mrs. Janice McIntyre and soloist Paul McIntyre. A reception followed, hosted by the UCW. Interment took place at Ormond Cemetery. The pallbearers were Jim Hooper, Mario Zambonin, Michael Kelly, Chris McIntyre, Doug MacIntosh-Hooper, and Brad Montroy. The honourary pallbearers were Bill Paterson, Murray MacIntosh, Brian Murphy, David Kelly, and Andrew MacIntosh.