CORNWALL – The North Dundas District High School girls’ curling team will make the 19-hour trek to Fort Frances, Ont. for the OFSAA curling championships.

The team is made up of Grace Cave, Allison Roach, Chloe Ziegler and Taryn Cooper.

The girls’ will represent Eastern Ontario after they defeated Vankleek Hill 7-4 in the EOSSA final.

The girls stole two in the seventh and eighth ends to seal the win.

Allison Roach (left) and Taryn Cooper guided a Chloe Ziegler shot down the ice. The girls will travel to Fort Frances, Ont. for the OFSAA curling championships, from March 20-25. Press Photo – Kennedy

The path to the finals saw the team defeat Kingston Collegiate 7-3, run over Gananoque 18-1 and fall to Vankleek Hill 5-4.

The Devils met their Dundas County rivals from Seaway in the semi-final. North Dundas won decisively by a 10-1 count.

The team will be doing several fundraisers to help offset the costs of the trek to the Northwestern Ontario town.

Coach Melissa Cooper estimated the cost of the team attending the championship would be around $8,000 to $10,000, which covers travel, food, accommodations and uniforms.

One fundraiser that the team will be doing is on Sat., March 10 at the Joel Steele Community Centre. The event will be a spaghetti dinner featuring a silent auction and a benefit concert by James Cave and Friends.

If you would like to make a monetary donation or donate an item for the silent auction, contact Cooper at

Boys’ team
The NDDHS boys’ rink had a strong showing at the tournament as the squad finished fourth overall.

North Dundas began the day with victories over Carleton Place and Fellowes High School from Pembroke.

Matched up against Loyalist from Kingston in the semi-final, the Devils fell 10-5.

The team then lost the bronze medal match against La Citadelle 9-2. Team members were Matthew Roach, Dylan Barkley, Matthew Pereira and Ewen Wilson.

Mixed team
The mixed team finished with a record of 1-2 for the tournament. The rinks’ victory came against Prescott’s South Grenville District High School. Team members were Mya Woods, Joey Williams, Sara Sloane and Hunter Skov.